Spring Gardening

Yellow must be the first color of spring–I’m seeing daffodils, tulips, forsythia, and dandelions all over.  The greenhouse plants are making some noticable progress now, too.  Looks like pretty much all the seeds we planted are coming up in one form or another.  Judy’s spinach seeds are starting to form edible leaves and the cilantro are forming recognizable leaves as well.  Everyone is doing a great job of keeping things watered and leaving notes and observations in the log.  It looks like the temperature is still getting down around freezing some nights, so I’m not sure that the cucumber and melon seeds I planted on Friday will actually germinate.  Liz was going to plant some tomato plants on Saturday and hopefully they will have some protection from frost.  Maybe we need to get some water walls???

Went to Ace yesterday to see if they had any plants for sale.  Ended up buying a six pack of broccoli, brussel sprouts and cauliflower along with 3 packs of marigolds and snapdragons.  I’ve never had much luck with those 3 cole crops, but figured what the heck–nothing else to buy and I had the planting bug due to the weather.  Planted the brussel sprouts and cauliflower in one of my beds, watered and promptly covered the bed with hoops and a thick row cover cloth.  Maybe it will keep the moths off that leave the little inch worms on all my cole crops.  I have decided that planting garlic in the fall is the best way to go around here.  The garlic we got from Gourmet Garlic Gardens are lookin’ good!

Chives anyone???  Tis the season!  The herb garden is starting to produce already and anyone needing some herbs please let me know.  I’m seeing new growth on  the cotsmary, wood betony, lovage, thyme, sage, mint, comfrey, plantain, feverfew, oregano, nettles, dandelions, lemon balm, horehound, motherwort, St. John’s wort, lavender, echinacea, marsh mallow, and chives.  They are all taking advantage of our great warm weather these past few days.

Well, Marvin being the “chicken-man wannabe” as well as the worm grower, beekeeper, gardener, and everything else he is, I have always been the wannabe mushroom hunter in arid southern Colorado.  So when Corey sent me the following video, I was inspired and just ordered some mushroom spawn to add to my garden beds.  Wish me luck and check out the following video on “6 Ways Mushrooms Can Save the World.”  Very inspiring and optimistic and well worth your time!! 

Leave a Reply

